Impact of Central & Eastern European Labour on UK Salaries (2004-2016)

On the 1st of May, 2004, the UK was one of three countries including Sweden and Ireland, to open its doors to the newly accepted eight former socialist countries (Hungary, Slovakia, Poland, Czech Republic, Latvia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Hungary, and Estonia) who joined the EU, known as the EU8/A8. Malta and Cyprus also joined at the same time but were exempt from having to partake in the monitoring process of its workers in the UK labor market.

Continue reading